Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

Symptoms of Being Human

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER and ASK THE PASSENGERS

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure --- media and otherwise --- is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school --- even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast --- the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created --- a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in --- or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

Symptoms of Being Human
by Jeff Garvin