Skip to main content

Select

About the Book

Select

A modern-day Romeo and Juliet with a supernatural twist that will appeal to fans of Ally Condie's MATCHED and Kiera Cass' THE SELECTION.
 
Julia Jaynes has the perfect life. The perfect family. The perfect destiny. The daughter of a billionaire investor in Austin, Texas, it looks like Julia has it all. But there's something rotten beneath the surface --- dangerous secrets her father is keeping; abilities she was never meant to have; and an elite society of highly evolved people who care nothing for the rest of humanity. So when Julia accidentally jeopardizes the delicate anonymity of her people, she's banished to the one place meant to make her feel inferior: public high school.  
 
Julia's goal is to lay low and blend in. Then she meets him --- John Ford. He’s popular, quiet, intense, and strangely compelling. Then Julia discovers she can read his mind and her world expands. Their forbidden love is powerful enough to break the conditioning that has kept Julia in the cold grip of her manipulative father.  For the first time, Julia develops a sense of self and questions her restrictive upbringing and her family prejudices. She must decide how she will define herself --- and whom she will betray. 

Select
by Marit Weisenberg