Skip to main content

Royals

Review

Royals

Rachel Hawkins’s newest novel, ROYALS, follows 16-year-old small-town Floridian, Daisy. Her life may seem normal with her working at the nearest knock-off Walmart, but her older --- and much more poised --- sister, Eleanor, is engaged to the Prince of Scotland, which brings in many troubles once Daisy is pushed into the flashing lights of the paparazzi. To learn some much needed etiquette amongst the royals, Daisy is sent to stay at the palace in Scotland where she meets the prince’s dashing younger brother, Sebastian, and his entourage which includes the stubborn yet interesting Miles. Trying to uphold to the standards of being a lady, Daisy may just find herself rewriting the rulebook of royalty to fit her own style.

Ever since I first heard about this book, I was dying to read it. Not only am I obsessed with Scotland and it’s beautiful landscapes, but hello…a royal family! With all the news of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry, this novel definitely put me in the feels and made me even more excited for the upcoming royal wedding. Besides that, though, this story was overall a fun journey from the start and made me swoon from all of the romance included!

"Hawkins has definitely delivered a glittering story...with promises of romance, hilarious dialogue and a main character who I’m sure anyone would come to love."

Speaking of fun, the main character Daisy certainly knew how to spice things up in the castle. She was a total blast to read from since she had this sarcastic wit along with a total realness that I’m sure anyone could relate to if they were put in her shoes. Her personality was probably my favorite thing about her and I never found myself annoyed with her decisions since that is a trend I sometimes feel when it comes to main characters in coming-of-age novels. She definitely had a fair share of savage comebacks to rude royals (who totally deserved them, by the way) and her relationship with Miles was literally the cutest.

Miles was probably one of the most swoon-worthy guys I’ve read about in a while and his persona was to die for. He had this “tough exterior” vibe that, once we got to see the real him, made things all the better. I think that Miles and Daisy both had traits that really complemented each other, which definitely led to some entertaining and sweet moments between the two. I especially love how their romance in this novel had two of my favorite tropes: hate-to-love and fake dating, which I didn’t expect at all and ended up making me love this story even more.

Another aspect I loved about this book were Daisy’s parents. I thought that they were super hilarious and even though we didn’t get to see a lot of them, the scenes we did get were the best. It’s always great to see some interactive parents in young adult literature since it is a rare factor in these novels and this one totally represented everything to love about parental figures. The wonderful banter but also the support system that every child needs. And even though Daisy’s sister, Ellie, wasn’t the most likable character along the way, we did get some nice scenes with her as well so the entire family aspect to this novel was a really lovely thing to experience.

I also immensely enjoyed the Scottish details to this story. I didn’t really know much about the country other than its beautiful locations before reading, but during I was introduced to many cultural facets including the fashion, dances, events and more. It was really cool because they mentioned doing “Strip the Willow” (a type of dance) and I searched up a YouTube video of it and really got to visualize the scene which was even more invigorating.

Even though I wish that we could have seen some of the characters’ stories wrapped up better, I do believe that this was a solid read that I extremely enjoyed. I believe that ROYALS is perfect for fans of The Princess Diaries series or even of the royal family themselves. Hawkins has definitely delivered a glittering story that gives a bit of an inside look on what the royal life is truly like with promises of romance, hilarious dialogue and a main character who I’m sure anyone would come to love.

Reviewed by Taylor F., Teen Board Member on May 10, 2018

Royals
by Rachel Hawkins