Skip to main content

Pieces of Why

About the Book

Pieces of Why

From the award winning author of FAT KID RULES THE WORLD and THE LIBERATION OF GABRIEL KING comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes --- perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and MOCKINGBIRD by Kathryn Erskine
 
Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions --- questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.
 
Full of humanity, PIECES OF WHY is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.

Pieces of Why
by K. L. Going

  • Publication Date: September 6, 2016
  • Genres: Music, Young Adult 10+
  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Puffin Books
  • ISBN-10: 0147509866
  • ISBN-13: 9780147509864