Skip to main content

Now Is Everything

Review

Now Is Everything

NOW IS EVERYTHING by Amy Giles follows Hadley McCauley, who seems to have it all; perfect grades, perfect friend group, a future that’s been set up for her from the beginning, and a rich and perfect family.

The thing is, Hadley’s family is hiding a dark secret. Her father throws punches like a greeting at her and her mother, but not her little sister, Lila --- at least not yet, and Hadley wants to keep it that way. But when Hadley starts to fall for Charlie Simmons, and their relationship gets more intense, the tension at home begins to spiral, leading up to an accident that will change her life forever.

Told in alternating then and now chapters, NOW IS EVERYTHING focuses on Hadley’s most troubling dilemma: should she live her life to the fullest, or stay suffering to protect those who she loves most?

"NOW IS EVERYTHING is a wonderfully crafted novel that will leave you speechless, and is perfect for fans of Robin Roe’s A LIST OF CAGES."

I was expecting to enjoy this book, but nothing could prepare me for how much I LOVED IT. Right from the start, Amy Giles’ writing captured me and sucked me into the story. It felt like I was in Hadley’s shoes, which while a very scary experience, was one that I think is very important. Being in Hadley’s point of view allows the reader to see what can really be going on behind closed doors.

Another thing about this book that I loved was the setup. The first chapter is in the “NOW” timeline, so the reader instantly knows that something has happened, and it’s revealed pretty early on that something happens to the family later in the “THEN” portion of the book. Usually I wouldn’t like this sort of setup, but I think that it definitely works with this novel because there’s so many hints planted throughout the story about what happens. As I read, I found myself wondering how I didn’t predict the ending sooner.

One thing that I didn’t like, though, was the insta-love. Hadley and Charlie become boyfriend and girlfriend ONE DAY after speaking a word to each other for the first time. Even though that’s pretty realistic for teenagers today, and I ended up loving their relationship, it just didn’t sit well with me overall.

NOW IS EVERYTHING is a wonderfully crafted novel that will leave you speechless, and is perfect for fans of Robin Roe’s A LIST OF CAGES.

Reviewed by Dylan C., Teen Board Member on December 13, 2017

Now Is Everything
by Amy Giles