Skip to main content

Genius: The Revolution

Review

Genius: The Revolution

Tunde, Cai and Rex are back for the final installation in the Genius trilogy. They have overcome many obstacles, but their parents are still suffering the consequences of their actions. Before defeating Kiran and taking down Shiva, they must first save their families. But time is running out as they race the countdown to Shiva's release which would signal the end of the world as we know it.

I have to admit that the characters felt lackluster in this book. This book truly is meant to be read right after the second book GENIUS: The Con, so the characterization was a continuation of what was in the previous books. The characters in this book stay the same. Their reactions to the events around them are the same. Cai is still proud and daring. Rex is still smart but brash. Tunde is still hopeful and glowing. They take risks that are predictable but also unpredictable: predictable that they could only be thought by the LODGE but unpredictable because they are unique solutions. Nothing is unexpected except for Teo and ULTRA. The antagonist Kiran even falls into the trap of repetitive action. Nothing new truly happens. No one switches sides suddenly or acts in a manner that is unexpected yet truly believable.

"I cannot deny the love I have for these characters....With each book, I grow fonder of their relationships and am constantly reminded of their genius."

The book felt too short. This book could have been lumped in with the second book, especially so since the timeline is directly after the events in GENIUS: The Con. This series as a whole could have been a duology. The first book would be about the Game and introduce Kiran; the second would be about the LODGE's attempts to defeat Kiran. It would help shorten the timeline and give the second book a better finale.

Too many characters were introduced, the black box geniuses and ULTRA to name a few. Too many people and too little time to develop them. ULTRA is a carbon copy of LODGE, and they are given as much characterization as hacker, crypto linguist, and engineer. They do seemingly nothing other than help the stars of the show LODGE with their work. In general, everyone plays second fiddle to LODGE. I feel like this does not give these geniuses within their own right the respect they deserve. As such, I do want a spinoff with their adventures, though, to see what they did behind the scenes.

But I cannot deny the love I have for these characters. They are daring and adventurous in ways that I never imagine I could be. They are skilled and hardworking. Their efforts save the world multiple times over. With each book, I grow fonder of their relationships and am constantly reminded of their genius. Each action is full of careful deliberation. Each moment is full of suspense.

The ending of the book is so hopeful. I loved the letter at the end. It was such a nice touch to the trilogy. Normally, I read books about geniuses and prodigies because I like to feel guilty about accomplishing nothing in life, but the letter at the end made me feel hopeful about what I have accomplished and what I could accomplish.

This book is perfect for fans of ENDER'S GAME and other science fiction books with geniuses.

Reviewed by Wren L., Teen Board Member on September 20, 2018

Genius: The Revolution
by Leopoldo Gout

  • Publication Date: August 7, 2018
  • Genres: Adventure, Fiction, Young Adult 13+
  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
  • ISBN-10: 1250045835
  • ISBN-13: 9781250045836