Skip to main content

Frost Like Night

Review

Frost Like Night

Sara Raasch is the New York Times Bestselling author of The Snow Like Ashes Trilogy, a YA fantasy trilogy that is like nothing you have read before. Sara is also the author of the upcoming YA duology The Stream Raiders. This trilogy is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, THE KISS OF DECEPTION, and TRUTHWITCH.

"I would recommend this to teens who love fantasy and complex magic systems. There is a perfect blend of romance, adventure, and magic in this trilogy. It is the perfect trilogy to marathon over a break!"

FROST LIKE NIGHT is the concluding novel to The Snow Like Ashes Trilogy. The story picks up soon after the events ending ICE LIKE FIRE. I started reading this without re-reading the first two books in this series, so it was a little difficult to get back into the world. I would recommend reading the novella that Sara Raasch posted on Wattpad in order to get a little bit of a refresher on some of the events in ICE LIKE FIRE. I eventually got the hang of the world again and flew through the rest of the novel.

The characters in FROST LIKE NIGHT are going on one quest after the next. Meira and Mather are both continuing the hunt for the keys. Ceridwen is helping prepare for war, meanwhile pretending to not want to be with Jesse. Everyone has something they are doing to help defeat Angra.

There were a few changes to the writing in the final book that helped out the overall experience. An additional point-of-view was added, so in FROST LIKE NIGHT we get to read from Meira’s, Mather’s, and Ceridwen’s points-of-view. Due to the twist in ICE LIKE FIRE, I was unsure of how the love triangle was going to play out, but it ended up being satisfying in ways I hadn’t expected. I was a little hesitant going into this book that it would be just like ICE LIKE FIRE, which I did not enjoy quite as much as I enjoyed SNOW LIKE ASHES. I did not need to worry, though. FROST LIKE NIGHT was just as good as SNOW LIKE ASHES, if not better.

This novel definitely focuses on the plot and world that the first two books set up nicely. FROST LIKE NIGHT is filled with betrayal, war, love, friendship, and heartbreak. Sara is able to craft the story so that it includes brief moments of reprieve from the war in Primoria. We get to read about places within the world that were not explored in the first two books. I absolutely loved the characters we knew already and all of the new characters we get to meet. Every single character grew and stepped up to the plate. Though no one is safe, Sara Raasch did an excellent job at crafting this unique world with passionate and brave characters.

I would recommend this to teens who love fantasy and complex magic systems. There is a perfect blend of romance, adventure, and magic in this trilogy. It is the perfect trilogy to marathon over a break!

Reviewed by Grace P., Teen Board Member on September 30, 2016

Frost Like Night
(Snow Like Ashes #3)
by Sara Raasch