Skip to main content

Fated: The Soul Seekers, Book 1

Review

Fated: The Soul Seekers, Book 1

Alyson Noël returns with a mystical new adventure featuring Daire Santos, a teen who has started having visions. Her mother, Jennika, is a Hollywood makeup artist, and Daire’s life so far has been spent traveling around the world, going to Internet school, and having brief relationships with famous actors. Soon her heritage and powers emerge, and she must grow up quickly to face and fight evil in this layered beginning of a unique series.

Daire sometimes dreams of kissing a boy with blue eyes in a clearing. At times, she will see scary scenes and people around her, but it is not until she has a terrifying vision while out with a Hollywood hottie and attacks him to get away that others learn about her new ability.

"This promises to be an intriguing journey for Daire as she finds her way, and readers may also want to research Native American folklore. Fans of Amelia Atwater-Rhodes and Noël’s Immortals series will especially enjoy FATED."

Her long-dead father’s mother calls Jennika and asks if Daire has been having visions. Jennika had Daire in a mental ward for a while, and is trying to keep her heavily sedated, but the moment the drugs wear off, Daire has more disturbing visions and attacks those around her to get away. Her grandmother, Paloma, suggests that Daire come to Enchantment, New Mexico, to learn about her heritage.

Paloma just seems weird at first, talking about wisdom and embracing her powers. Daire’s father was Native American and descended from a long line of Seekers, who can commune with nature and energies in their role of fighting evil. While Daire is not ready to accept what Paloma is telling her, she knows evil when she sees it. The boy from her dreams is alive in Enchantment and has a twin who gives off terrible energy, and Daire tries to avoid both of them.

But trying to avoid all aspects of her new reality causes her to have another episode, injuring herself. Slowly, Daire follows Paloma’s teaching and learns that she can harness powerful magick. She is sent on a vision quest and learns about her spirit animal, the Raven. In the meantime, Paloma also sends her to the local high school, where she meets Cade, the evil twin, and Dace, her fated love. Mostly, though, it seems like a normal cliquey high school. She also makes friends with a blind girl with powers, and learns that the community is gearing up for the big Day of the Dead celebrations.

Paloma sends Daire to find the portal that is the source of Cade and his ancestors’ dark powers between the Worlds. She learns that he is planning something more terrible than Paloma even predicted. But Paloma has been ill and takes a turn for the worse. Daire must figure out what to do and how to save her now-beloved grandmother’s body and soul.

The Native American overlay of this story is an interesting approach. The good and evil twins are obvious, but the supporting cast grows and surprises readers, as does Daire. This promises to be an intriguing journey for Daire as she finds her way, and readers may also want to research Native American folklore. Fans of Amelia Atwater-Rhodes and Noël’s Immortals series will especially enjoy FATED.

Reviewed by Amy Alessio on July 22, 2012

Fated: The Soul Seekers, Book 1
by Alyson Noël