Skip to main content

Eragon: Inheritance, Book I


Eragon: Inheritance, Book I

One day, a young farm boy named Eragon finds a blue stone while hunting and tries to sell it for money. Unsuccessful in his attempts, he takes the stone back to his cabin and lets it sit there --- until it hatches into a beautiful blue dragon. Eragon realizes he can talk to this secret pet dragon with his mind, and eventually learns that he and the dragon are part of a legacy of secret heroes called the Riders.

With the help of Brom, a wise man, Eragon matures into his destiny. The challenges he faces include fighting a long-standing war, helping an ethereal elf, and dealing with tragedy and revenge. Certain details, such as Eragon's revelation that he cannot read, develop this rich work and blend together to produce a number of plot twists. The story builds suspense steadily until the end.

Remarkably, author Christopher Paolini began writing ERAGON at the age of 15. Now 19, he has already established himself as an exciting new creator whose influences include Tolkien, McCaffrey, and others. His world is intricate, his characters believable, and his writing engaging.

Both casual readers and hardcore fans of fantasy and science fiction novels will be enchanted by this well-crafted fantasy and unquestionably will look forward to parts two and three of this exciting trilogy.


Reviewed by Amy Alessio on October 18, 2011

Eragon: Inheritance, Book I
(The Inheritance Cycle #1)
by Christopher Paolini

  • Publication Date: June 25, 2003
  • Genres: Science Fiction
  • Hardcover: 544 pages
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
  • ISBN-10: 0375826688
  • ISBN-13: 9780375826689