Skip to main content

Calling My Name

About the Book

Calling My Name

CALLING MY NAME, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self --- ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.
 
This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and it deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.
 
Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, CALLING MY NAME follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Calling My Name
by Liara Tamani