Skip to main content

Blood of Wonderland


Blood of Wonderland

BLOOD OF WONDERLAND is the second book in the Queen of Hearts series by Colleen Oakes. Oakes continues her tragic origin story of the Queen of Hearts and reimagining of Wonderland in this riveting novel.

"BLOOD OF WONDERLAND tells a story of love and revenge. Colleen Oakes has created yet another mesmerizing novel."

BLOOD OF WONDERLAND picks up right where QUEEN OF HEARTS --- the first book of the trilogy --- left off, with former Princess Dinah wandering the Twisted Woods after escaping from Wonderland. Dinah travels through the forest riding Morte, her father’s steed and the most menacing horse of all the lands. Dinah relies on the food and clothes in the bag that was given to her by a mysterious cloaked figure the night she ran from Wonderland. As she journeys through the Twisted Woods, the King of Hearts and his army track her and eventually close in on her in the dead of night. Dinah hears her father command his men to bring him his ungrateful daughter, dead or alive. Petrified, Dinah prepares to either run from the group of men or kill her father and get revenge for the murder of her beloved brother, but is stopped by a man’s voice advising her to hide in the thick of the trees. She complies, crouching unseen behind the trunk of one of the trees. The army leaves, drawn away by someone crashing through the woods across from Dinah.

Dinah soon learns her accomplice is Sir Gorran, a rogue Spade from Wonderland’s army. Sir Gorran helps Dinah under the command of Cheshire --- the King’s disloyal adviser. Over the course of the book, Dinah is brought to the Yurkei tribe under the pretense of being imprisoned. Mundoo --- the Yurkei chief --- orders his people to train Dinah and treat her well. While she is with the tribe, Cheshire comes to visit Dinah and informs her of the truth behind her family. Armed with fury from this new information, Dinah wages war on Wonderland in order to take back her rightful throne and provide fair treatment to all who are ruled by Wonderland. Dinah is supplied with an army of Yurkei people and over a thousand rogue Spades, all ready to fight under Dinah to secure control of Wonderland and behead the traitorous king. 

BLOOD OF WONDERLAND is a dark fantasy novel fueled by hope and revenge. The novel follows the story of the heroic Dinah, future Queen of Hearts as she fights alongside a new cast of characters for vengeance. Unpredictable and captivating, this book continues the story behind how the Queen of Hearts became so cruel and how the Wonderland we know and love came to be.

BLOOD OF WONDERLAND tells a story of love and revenge. Colleen Oakes has created yet another mesmerizing novel. It is the perfect read for lovers of fantasy and “Alice” stories. This book will leave you on the edge of your seat in anticipation for the outcome, so keep your eye out for the final book, WAR OF THE CARDS.

Reviewed by Mikenzie R., Teen Board Member on January 30, 2017

Blood of Wonderland
(Queen of Hearts #2)
by Colleen Oakes

  • Publication Date: January 31, 2017
  • Genres: Fairy Tale, Fantasy, Young Adult 14+
  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • ISBN-10: 006240976X
  • ISBN-13: 9780062409768