Skip to main content

Bite Club: The Morganville Vampires, Book 10


Bite Club: The Morganville Vampires, Book 10

In BITE CLUB, the 10th book in Rachel Caine's popular Morganville Vampires series, we return to Texas Prairie University and the town of Morganville, Texas, where an uneasy truce has existed between humans and vampires. Under the leadership of the vampire Amelie, a new experiment is underway to see if the two species can safely co-exist in the same town. Now that precarious balance appears poised to shift once again as new players make their appearance and tensions rise between various vampire factions. There is no telling who might ultimately emerge as victor in this latest of the vampire wars.

Claire Danvers and her roommates, Shane, Eve and Michael, find themselves in the middle of all the action. The four friends struggle to redefine and strengthen their relationships while looking out for each other and fending off those who mean them harm. But nothing is as it appears even between them. Claire knows a terrible secret about her boyfriend Shane's father that she dare not tell Shane; Shane finds himself locked in a deep rage that cries out for a violent outlet, even at great peril to himself; and Eve and Michael struggle to define what their romantic relationship means now that Michael has been turned into a vampire.

Too many things start to go wrong at once when Claire's lab partner Dan turns up dead at the hand of a vampire. Why was Dan killed? Was his murder a random act of violence, or had he been dabbling in something too dark to be contemplated? Who is the beautiful, charismatic vampire who has turned her sights on Shane, and why is Shane --- who has always steadfastly loathed vampires --- so unable to resist her charms? And who is Vassily, the vampire who set up a martial arts studio to pit vampire against human? As these and other questions mount, Claire finds herself drawn into an ominous situation that puts her own life and that of those she loves in mortal danger. Although her mysterious and unpredictable vampire boss Myrnin tries to offer her some protection, he ends up pulling her in deeper into the middle of the vampire war that is brewing as Amelie and her father Bishop face off in a bid for control over the town.

BITE CLUB is a fast-paced and action-packed novel that moves the series forward in definite and even surprising directions. Each of the main characters is faced with a crisis and evolves in response, not always in ways that are appreciated by their friends. Claire must weigh the consequences of a major choice --- staying behind in Morganville with her loved ones, or leaving forever to pursue her loftiest goal. Shane taps into a burning rage inside him, and learns in what ways he and his abusive father are similar as well as dissimilar. The story is told in turns by Claire and Shane, and offers interesting and sometimes contrasting perspectives from the two main protagonists.

This latest installment is sure to please the many fans of the series who have been awaiting it with bated breath. For newcomers to the series, the book offers an intriguing peek into the complex and dangerous world of Morganville, a town that humans may enter but never leave.

Reviewed by Usha Rao on May 3, 2011

Bite Club: The Morganville Vampires, Book 10
by Rachel Caine

  • Publication Date: May 3, 2011
  • Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: NAL Hardcover
  • ISBN-10: 0451233182
  • ISBN-13: 9780451233189