Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

All My Noble Dreams and Then What Happens

Rosalind is caught between two worlds as Gandhi’s nonviolent revolution takes hold in this standalone companion to SMALL ACTS OF AMAZING COURAGE.

Rosalind inhabits two worlds in 1920s India. There is the world of her heritage --- English to the core, with a strict father who is a major in the British Indian Army, a muted mother and a tutor to educate her within the walls of the luxurious estate her family occupies. And then there is the world of her homeland --- or the land that feels like home, anyway. The world where followers of Gandhi surround her, and the streets are full of poverty and the whispers of independence.

The two worlds are colliding, and despite what Rosalind has been raised to think, she begins to resent the heavy hand of British rule. When her father’s military position provides Rosalind the opportunity to meet the Prince of Wales, she has the chance to tell him about the injustice she witnesses in the streets of India. Rosalind desperately wants to do what is right, but will she have the courage to—and what will be the consequence?

All My Noble Dreams and Then What Happens
by Gloria Whelan

  • Publication Date: April 2, 2013
  • Genres: Youth Fiction
  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
  • ISBN-10: 1442449764
  • ISBN-13: 9781442449763