Skip to main content

Peter Lerangis


Peter Lerangis

Peter Lerangis is the author of over 160 books, for early readers through teens, which have sold more than 4.5 million copies and been translated into 28 different languages. He injects his own brand of suspense, humor, and colorful characters into many different writing genres --- mystery (theSpy X series), science fiction (the Watchers series), teen romance (the Drama Club series), and serious historical fiction (SMILER'S BONES).

In September 2003, First Lady Bush selected Peter, along with two other writers, Marc Brown and R.L. Stine, to accompany her to Moscow, representing the United States in the first Russian Book Festival. In 2004, the National Book Foundation chose him to be a Family Literacy Writer-in-Residence, and he has conducted writing workshops for the Highlights Foundation and the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. 

Peter's books are widely acclaimed. SMILER'S BONES, a novel based on the true story of Minik, a Polar Eskimo boy orphaned in New York City at the turn of the twentieth century, was a Junior Library Guild selection, a New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age, a Bank Street Best Book, and was a Recommended Book of the Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books and the National Council for Social Studies. His two-book polar adventure, ANTARCTICA, was selected as required reading by the JASON organization in 2001. Books in his sci-fi/mystery series, Watchers, were cited by the American Library Association for its 1999 Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers and by the Children's Book Council/International Reading Association for its 2000 Children's Choice Books. He is one of the country's most in-demand movie novelization authors, having adapted The Sixth Sense and Batman Begins, among many others.

A Harvard graduate with a degree in biochemistry, Peter became a Broadway musical theater actor after college. He has run a marathon and gone rock-climbing during an earthquake, but not on the same day. He lives in New York City with his wife and their two sons.

Peter Lerangis

Books by Peter Lerangis

by Peter Lerangis - Fantasy, Mythology

THE TOMB OF SHADOWS is the third book in a seven-book series by master storyteller Peter Lerangis. This sequel to the bestselling LOST IN BABYLON and THE COLOSSUS RISES chronicles the adventures of Jack McKinley and his friends in a life-or-death race to the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus. In the rubble of this Wonder of the Ancient World, they have to face down their own demons and engage in an epic battle with foes long gone. But when promises are broken, blood is spilled --- and the Select are left with no choice but to destroy the one thing that might have saved them all.

by Harry Mazer and Peter Lerangis - Young Adult 12+

Haunted by memories of 9/11, popular high schooler Ben enlists in the army. After his convoy gets caught in an explosion, Ben is in a coma for two months. When he wakes up, he doesn't know where he is, and he doesn't remember anything about his old life.