Skip to main content

Madeleine L'Engle


Madeleine L'Engle

Madeleine L’Engle published her first novel, THE SMALL RAIN, in 1945. Four years later, she published her first children’s book, AND BOTH WERE YOUNG. Her Newbery Award-winning novel A WRINKLE IN TIME, which was published in 1962, dealt with themes she toyed with in her diaries for years, from personal shortcomings to Einstein’s Theory of Relativity. L’Engle wrote fiction and nonfiction for adults, as well as poetry. She died in 2007.

Madeleine L'Engle

Books by Madeleine L'Engle

Written by Madeleine L'Engle, Adapted and Illustrated by Hope Larson - Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Graphic Novel, Science Fiction

The world already knows Meg and Charles Wallace Murry, Calvin O'Keefe, and the three Mrs --- Who, Whatsit, and Which --- the memorable and wonderful characters who fight off a dark force and save our universe. But in 50 years of publication, the book has never been illustrated. Now, Hope Larson takes the classic story to a new level with her vividly imagined interpretations of tessering and favorite characters like the Happy Medium and Aunt Beast.

by Madeleine L'Engle - Fantasy
It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. "Wild nights are my glory," the unearthly stranger told them. "I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I'll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract."