Skip to main content

Kathy MacMillan

Biography

Kathy MacMillan

Kathy MacMillan is a writer, American Sign Language interpreter, consultant, librarian and signing storyteller. She holds National Interpreter Certification from the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. Her diverse career includes working as a children’s librarian at public libraries, working a school librarian at the Maryland School for the Deaf,  leading the Eldersburg Library Bookcart Drill Team and performing as Scooby-Doo, Velma and a host of other characters at a theme park.  Kathy presents American Sign Language storytelling programs through her business, Stories By Hand, and also runs the storytime resource website Storytime Stuff.  She is a volunteer director and board president of Deaf Camps, Inc., a nonprofit organization that provides camps for deaf children.  Kathy holds a Master of Library Science from the University of Maryland, a Bachelor of English from the Catholic University of America and a Certificate of American Sign Language Interpreting from the Community College of Baltimore County. She lives in Owings Mills, MD with her husband, son and a cat named Pancake.

Kathy MacMillan

Books by Kathy MacMillan

by Kathy MacMillan - Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Social Issues, Young Adult 13+

The sequel to SWORD AND VERSE follows a familiar face --- Soraya --- as she attempts to rebuild a nation after the downfall of the monarchy. Readers who love Rae Carson and Kristen Cashore won’t be able to put this fantasy down.

Soraya Gamo was meant to be queen of Qilara, until an Arnath slave rebellion upended the social order and destroyed the capital city. Now, improbably, she sits on the new ruling council beside Mati, Raisa and Jonis from Book 1, and must work with her former enemies.

She finally holds the political power she always wanted --- but over a nation in ruins. As she helps to rebuild Qilara, she can, at last, use what everyone once told her to hide: her brain.

But not everyone is ready to accept that the Arnathim are no longer enslaved to the Qilarites. So when a slave ship arrives in the city, full of Arnathim captured before Qilara fell, the civil unrest that has been bubbling since the rebellion erupts.

Forced to confront her own prejudices, Soraya struggles to gain the trust of the Arnath people she once disregarded and establish peace in what has become chaos. With the threat of attacks high, Gelti, a former guard captain, trains Soraya in self-defense. As the two grow close, tension within the city ramps up, with danger, betrayal and deception meeting Soraya everywhere she turns.

Friends become foes, adversaries become companions and the clashing of classes threatens to unravel all the good Soraya has been trying to do. Can Soraya, raised to be a submissive Qilarite lady, learn to be a true leader? Or will the sins of her past forever haunt the footsteps of her future?

by Kathy MacMillan - Dystopian, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Youth Fiction

Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn it. So when she is selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death. Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters.