Skip to main content

Janet Taylor Lisle


Janet Taylor Lisle

Janet Taylor Lisle's novels for young readers include five selected as Best Books of the Year by School Library Journal: SIRENS AND SPIES, THE LAMPFISH OF TWILL, FOREST, A MESSAGE FROM THE MATCH GIRL (from the Investigators of the Unknown series), and AFTERNOON OF THE ELVES, a Newbery Honor Book. Her most recent title for Atheneum is THE ART OF KEEPING COOL, a Horn Book Fanfare title and winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction.

She lives with her family on the coast of Rhode Island.

Janet Taylor Lisle

Books by Janet Taylor Lisle

by Janet Taylor Lisle - Historical Fiction


It is spring 1929, and Prohibition is in full swing. So when Ruben and Jeddy find a dead body washed up on the shore of their small town, they are sure it has something to do with smuggling liquor. Then Ruben meets the daring captain of the Black Duck, the most elusive smuggling craft of them all, and it isn’t long before he’s caught in a war between two of the most dangerous prohibition gangs.

by Janet Taylor Lisle - Fiction
Joelle’s height and dark skin set her apart from everyone in Marshfield. It’s no secret that she’s adopted, but where is she from? Carlos, the quiet boy in Joelle’s Spanish class, sees it. When he tells her that she looks like a girl in the town library’s old mural of Narragansett Indians. She’s surprised by a flicker of recognition. And when Carlos tells her about the Crying Rocks, where the ghosts of Narragansett children are said to cry for their lost mothers, Joelle knows she must visit them.