Skip to main content

Christopher Barzak


Christopher Barzak

Christopher Barzak is the author of the Crawford Fantasy Award winning novel, ONE FOR SORROW, which has been made into the Sundance feature film Jamie Marks is Dead.

His second novel, THE LOVE WE SHARE WITHOUT KNOWING, was a finalist for the Nebula Award and the James Tiptree Jr. Award.

He is also the author of two collections: “Birds and Birthdays, a collection of surrealist fantasy stories,” and “Before and Afterlives,” a collection of supernatural fantasies, which won Best Collection in the 2013 Shirley Jackson Awards.

Christopher grew up in rural Ohio, has lived in a southern California beach town, the capital of Michigan and has taught English outside of Tokyo, Japan, where he lived for two years. Currently he teaches fiction writing in the Northeast Ohio MFA program at Youngstown State University.

Christopher Barzak

Books by Christopher Barzak

by Christopher Barzak - Fantasy, Gay & Lesbian, Paranormal, Relationships, Youth Fiction

Seventeen-year-old Aidan Lockwood lives in the sleepy farming community of Temperance, Ohio --- known for its cattle ranches and not much else. That is, until Jarrod, a friend he hasn’t seen in five years, moves back to town and opens Aidan’s eyes in startling ways: to Aidan’s ability to see the spirit world; to the red-bearded specter of Death; to a family curse that has claimed the lives of the Lockwood men one by one . . . and to the new feelings he has developed for Jarrod.