Skip to main content

Aimee Bender


Aimee Bender

Aimee Bender is the author of four books: THE GIRL IN THE FLAMMABLE SKIRT (1998), which was a NY Times Notable Book; AN INVISIBLE SIGN OF MY OWN (2000), which was an L.A. Times pick of the year; WILLFUL CREATURES (2005), which was nominated by The Believer as one of the best books of the year; THE PARTICULAR SADNESS OF LEMON CAKE (2010), which won the SCIBA award for best fiction, and an Alex Award; and THE COLOR MASTER (2013).

Her short fiction has been published in Granta, GQ, Harper’s, Tin House, McSweeney’s, The Paris Review, and many more places, as well as heard on PRI’s "This American Life" and "Selected Shorts." She has received two Pushcart prizes, and was nominated for the TipTree award in 2005, and the Shirley Jackson short story award in 2010. Her fiction has been translated into 16 languages.

She lives in Los Angeles, where she teaches creative writing at USC.

Aimee Bender

Books by Aimee Bender

by Aimee Bender - Fiction

On the eve of her ninth birthday, unassuming Rose Edelstein bites into her mother's homemade lemon-chocolate cake and discovers she has a magical gift: she can taste her mother's emotions in the slice.